2018 AGU Union Medal, Award, and Prize Recipients Announced

The world's largest organization of Earth and space scientists honors 33 exceptional individuals.



By Eric Davidson and Mary Anne Holmes O 1 min ago

Each year AGU honors individuals for their outstanding achievements, contributions, and service to the Earth and space science community. AGU medals are the highest honors bestowed by the Union. They recognize individuals for their scientific body of work and sustained impact within the Earth and space science community. AGU Union awards and prizes recognize individuals who have demonstrated excellence in scientific research, education, communication, and outreach.

This distinguished group of honorees—scientists, leaders, educators, journalists, and

1 of 4 04/09/18, 15:11

communicators—embodies AGU's mission of promoting discovery in Earth and space science for the benefit of society.

On behalf of AGU's Honors and Recognition Committee, the selection committees, and AGU leaders and staff, we are pleased to present the recipients of AGU's 2018 Union medals, awards, and prizes.

We appreciate everyone who has shown support and commitment to AGU's Honors Program. Our dedicated volunteers gave valuable time as members of selection committees to choose this year's Union medals, awards, and prizes recipients. We also thank all the nominators and supporters who made this possible through their steadfast efforts to nominate and recognize their colleagues.

Celebrate at the Fall Meeting

We look forward to celebrating our honorees' profound contributions at this year's Honors Ceremony and Banquet, to be held on Wednesday, 12 December, at Fall Meeting 2018 in Washington, D. C.

Please join us in congratulating our esteemed class of 2018 Union honorees listed below.

—Eric Davidson, President, AGU; and Mary Anne Holmes (email:

<u>agu_unionhonors@agu.org(mailto:agu_unionhonors@agu.org)</u>), Chair, Honors and Recognition

Committee, AGU

Medals

William Bowie Medal

Daniel N. Baker, University of Colorado Boulder

James B. Macelwane Medal

Steven J. Davis, University of California, Irvine

Walter W. Immerzeel, Utrecht University

Isaac R. Santos, Southern Cross University

Drew L. Turner, The Aerospace Corporation, El Segundo, Calif.

Caroline Ummenhofer, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

John Adam Fleming Medal

Forrest S. Mozer, University of California, Berkeley

Walter H. Bucher Medal

Philip C. England, University of Oxford

2 of 4 04/09/18, 15:11

Maurice Ewing Medal

Nicklas G. Pisias, Oregon State University

Robert E. Horton Medal

Dennis P. Lettenmaier, University of California, Los Angeles

Harry H. Hess Medal

Timothy L. Grove, Department of Earth, Atmospheric and Planetary Sciences,

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Roger Revelle Medal

Isaac Held, Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory, National Oceanic and Atmospheric

Administration

Inge Lehmann Medal

Yoshio Fukao, Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology (JAMSTEC)

Charles A. Whitten Medal

David T. Sandwell, University of California, San Diego

Joanne Simpson Medal for Mid-Career Scientists

Olivier Bachmann, ETH Zurich

Endawoke Yizengaw, Boston College

Awards

Ambassador Award

Esteban Jobbágy, Universidad Nacional de San Luis and Consejo Nacional de

Investigaciones Científicas y Técnicas

Rosaly M. C. Lopes, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, California Institute of Technology

Christopher M. Reddy, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

Edward A. Flinn III Award

Richard P. Hooper, Tufts University

William Kaula Award

Alberto Montanari, University of Bologna

Waldo E. Smith Award

M. Meghan Miller, UNAVCO

Charles S. Falkenberg Award

Rebecca Bergquist Neumann, University of Washington

Athelstan Spilhaus Award

C. Alex Young, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

International Award

Giuliano Francesco Panza, Accademia dei Lincei and Accademia dei XL, Rome; and Olim

University of Trieste

Excellence in Earth and Space Science Education Award

Mark A. Chandler, Center for Climate Systems Research

Africa Award for Research Excellence in Earth Science

Ahzegbobor Philips Aizebeokhai, Covenant University

Africa Award for Research Excellence in Space Science

Frédéric Ouattara, Université Norbert Zongo

Science for Solutions Award

Kyle Frankel Davis, Data Science Institute, Columbia University

Walter Sullivan Award for Excellence in Science Journalism-Features

Douglas Fox, High Country News

David Perlman Award for Excellence in Science Journalism-News

Shannon Hall, Freelance Science Journalist

Prizes

Asahiko Taira International Scientific Ocean Drilling Research Prize

Brandon Dugan, Colorado School of Mines

Climate Communication Prize

Michael E. Mann, Pennsylvania State University

Citation: Davidson, E., and M. A. Holmes (2018), 2018 AGU Union medal, award, and prize recipients announced, *Eos*, *99*, https://doi.org/10.1029/2018EO105269. Published on 04 September 2018.

Text © 2018. The authors. CC BY-NC-ND 3.0

Except where otherwise noted, images are subject to copyright. Any reuse without express permission from the copyright owner is prohibited.

4 of 4 04/09/18, 15:11